OU’s Chamberlain Breaks Softball HR Record

CBS Dallas / Fort Worth

Follow CBSDFW.COM:Facebook | Twitter

DENTON (AP) – Oklahoma’s Lauren Chamberlain broke the NCAA Division I softball career home run record Thursday night, hitting a grand slam for No. 91 in the Sooners’ 6-2 victory over North Texas.

She moved ahead of former UCLA star Stacey Nuveman with the fourth-inning shot off North Texas starter Kenzie Grimes that gave Oklahoma a 4-2 lead. Chamberlain also had a double in four at-bats.

« I feel really, really ecstatic and I feel like I’m finally able to finally fully enjoy the moment, » Chamberlain said. « I think the pressure of it along the way and the highs and lows, especially the lows, have made this moment so much sweeter. I think I’m able to celebrate now and kind of breathe a little bit and just relax and play softball.

« The eyes are off a little bit and I can just go back to…

View original post 202 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

